Gauvreau en Haiti

Gauvreau en Haiti

November 2011

Friday, October 28, 2011

Yesterday, we had a birthday party for one of the children at the orphanage. He is now 4 years old. Other children were allowed to participate; they had great fun and played a lot. The adults had a lot of fun just to look at them. I have taken some pictures that you can see on the blog.

 

Tuesday, November 1st

When we go down to Port-au-Prince, we always have a lot of places to go. Yesterday, we went to the bank (45 minutes), then to the embassy (1:30h), to the garage (45 minutes) to buy parts to repair our car; then to the grocery store (1h) and finally to see the girls and take care of 4 sponsorships for the school and university (45 minutes). And these do not count the travelling time. To make matter worse, we left at 10am, an hour later than we were supposed to leave, and we had to come back at 4:00pm to give the car back to John so he could go home. And in the midst of it, we forgot to buy bread for Georges at the “Épi d’Or” on Delmas Road.

 

I am in the process to renew my passport. It is more difficult here than in Canada. If I have known it I would have done it when I went in Canada last September. Yesterday, we went for the second time to the embassy and the lady told me that I did not have the right birth certificate. The one I had was not valid anymore. And I started to cry, and the lady tried to facilitate the process. She told me that because of the computer they must give it the right information otherwise the demand is rejected. Finally, I understood what she was telling me and I left. But before leaving the compound, the Consul had reached me and wanted to know what was wrong and what he could do to help me. He did not want me to leave the embassy crying. He did help and Georges and I really like him.

 

Today, the process is more and more difficult because of frauds. But, honest people are paying for it.

 

Tuesday, November 15

Finally, I can go back to do the blog. I have no Internet access for now and this is a good and a bad thing. Good because I can write some of the blog, bad because I cannot use Skype to call for my birth certificate. It is so complicated when you are not in Canada. There are a lot of my documents that I cannot access and these would help me greatly for the researches.

 

Mireille and Jean-Marc, a couple from our church in Longueuil, Quebec, came to visit us. We had a great time together and blessed us abundantly. During their stay, we could go the Sylvio Cator Stadium where there were four nights of evangelisation. This event was made possible because of pastors of different denominations working together. Many Haitian pastors, Wilson Charles was responsible in Haiti, our pastor in Canada Claude Houde, and two pastors of New York Carter Conlon and Gary Wilkerson. The Internet site of “l’Église Nouvelle Vie” shows a video taken
during one of the services: http://blognouvellevie.com/2011/11/15/une-retrospective-video-de-la-conference-en-haiti/

 

The first night was difficult. We could feel the power of the dark forces fighting against this event. So, from all places in the stadium many prayers and praises were heard and finally the darkness left. Here in Haiti, we can really feel the spiritual battle and not the carnal one. The first night there was not too many people, but on Sunday night, the last one, that was wonderful. The stadium was full and our Pastor Claude Houde preached. Mireille and I were on the podium for the last night. The songs were heavenly and the preaching was very well adapted to the country needs. There is hope for this country if only all the Christians are holding firmly to the Lord. (See photos November 2011)

 

When our friends came, we saw a living pig that was attached at the back of a car. (See photos November
2011)
When they left for Arcahaie, on the West Coast of Haiti, we had three days of cool weather. I was so frozen, I was wrapped in a blanket to try to keep warm and I also put a tuque on. (See photos November 2011) I caught a very bad cold but now I am better and my voice is back to normal. The

temperature is better now and we have sun every day. But I must admit that when the sun is not there it is too cool for my taste.

 

Tuesday, November 29

On our Internet site, you can see pictures of a Birthday party for children that we had at the main house GLA. Then, pictures of Emeline’s Birthday, who works at GLA, we went at a hotel in Montagne Noire (in Petionville). We had a lot of fun. Also, some pictures of the American Thanksgiving
on Nov. 25. It has been two years in a row that we are celebrating the Canadian (October) and American (November) Thanksgiving. We are fortunate to have turkey twice with all the pumpkin pies, etc.

 

There are also some pictures of the little houses for the children. What is a little sad is that we do not have enough money to finish them.

 

Thank you to all of you who are praying for us, and may the Lord bless you all abundantly!

 

And the quote of the month: “Often during marriage you begin looking at your differences as hindrances rather than benefits. You are a broader person because of theses difference. They try to change your mate when you need these differences?”

From Dennis and Barbara Rainey

 

We wish you a wonderful month!

 

Cordially,

Jocelyne and Georges



30/11/2011
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 2 autres membres