Gauvreau en Haiti

Gauvreau en Haiti

March 2012

I, Jocelyne, have experienced it very often. It is taken from this Web Site: http://www.holleygerth.com/home/

 

“Sometimes our comfort zones are the walls that block us from God's best for our lives. When
we dare to step beyond them we open the doors to things we never thought possible.

 

We grow. And our faith does too.

 

It seems that's where I most often find Jesus too--not in the familiar or safe but just beyond the edge of what I think I can handle. It's in those moments that I suddenly find His hands holding me.

 

How about you...what stretches your faith?” –Holley Gerth

 

Monday, March 5, 2012

I really find the time to be longer without Georges. At the beginning it was going find, but since yesterday, Sunday, I find the days too long. I have no driver’s licence at this moment, so I cannot go out as I wish. Finally, Jesus is there and he is my companion. He is the best one in the world.

 

Wednesday, March 7

We just felt a medium tremor; it was feeling weird for 3 to 4 seconds. It is 9:51 pm. My neighbor, Holli, came to see if I was all right and she told me that it was a tremor of 4.6 on the Ritcher scale. It was so out of this world and I think that is the stronger one I have felt until now.

 

Thursday, March 8

Well, I thing that the week is not ending without problem. But God is in control. We just received this e-mail from the Canadian Embassy: “Be on the alert for an announcement from the President of the Republic today at 4:00 pm. As soon as we can we will let you know.”

 

The Senators, including Mr. Moïse, want to get President Martelly out of office; they are not from the same political party. If they succeed there will be a lot of riots. They said that the President,
Michel Joseph Martelly had an American passport; because he travelled on November 21, 2007 with an American passport under the name of Michael Martelly. The American Ambassador refuted this.

 

Saturday, March 10

Georges is back from Quebec, he went to his sister funeral. His trip went well but he founded it too long. He likes to be at home as much as possible. He stayed at David and Marie-Eve, son and daughter-in-law, who were kind enough to have him at their home.

 

Sunday, March 11

There is a team from Eglise Nouvelle Vie, our church in Quebec, who is in Haiti at this time. One of the volunteers is an osteopath. So we went to meet with them at the Carribean Hotel in Petionville and with Jacques and Helene Loignon who were their leaders. It is there that I met Sylvie, the osteopath, who told me to go see her tomorrow at the guesthouse for a treatment.

 

Monday, March 12

We went down to Delmas and I got my treatment. This was marvellous and I feel a lot better. Sylvie told me that I was worst that the ladies who carry very heavy load on their head. My neck and my shoulders were in bad shape and with all the pain that brings. But I still need treatments, so I took appointments for when I will go to Montreal. Thank you Sylvie Mayer for helping me and for coming to Haiti to help us (Haitians and expats). I hope to see you soon at the orphanage where I work.

 

Friday, March 16

Mireille and Jean-Marc (prayer partners at our church in Montreal) have visited us for the second time at Fort-Jacques during their short visit in Haiti. They brought with them Mireille’s daughter and
grand-daughter and a family friend. We had a great time together and it is with regrets that we had to let them go back to their hotel. See you soon!

 

Sunday, March 25

It is the time for the Ra-Ra bands. They go everywhere and they play drums, with skin, and a kind of long funnel in metal as a trumpet. This music is repetitive and makes no sense. Unfortunately, I cannot take pictures of these bands because it is related to voodoo. So it is better to abstain. They walk in the streets every time of the days and nights. One night, we were waked up around 4:00 am and that lasted for 3 hours.

 

Thursday, March 29

What a joy to have Internet, especially when you must wait 3 minutes before the page opened. Some of my friends would say that at least I have it! When it rains, at lunch time and super time it is almost impossible to play games, watch videos, to look at pictures, so everything that needs a lot of power to run. The ones who live in a third wold country understand me. In Canada, the United States and even in Europe you have seldom this kind of problems. YOU ARE VERY LUCKY!

 

This week, we had a team of the James Fund, http://www.jamesfund.org/ from US. It is the second time that we receive a team from this organization. It is a Family Christian Store Foundation, and the founder of James Fund also has stores all across the US. These stores sell books, music, etc., all over the States. Their Web site is http://www.familychristian.com/. This owner sends his employees, around twice a year, to do volunteering in the States and around the world where there is widows and orphans. These teams are great. They adapt well to the culture and to all to work that needs to be done.

 

The general fund for the orphanage is quite low; we did not have enough money for another month. The Family Christian stores have raised funds during Christmas time by selling a Christmas CD that the author permitted to take a certain amount for support the orphanage. They sold numerous CD because the amount they gave was in the 6 numbers. Dixie, the owner of GLA, was crying she never thought that she could receive that much at one time. So, we were able to buy a minivan that we desperately needed to carry teams who come to help at GLA around. God knew that the orphanage cannot function without money. Thank you Lord for your wonderful blessings! You know all things.

 

This is the end word:

“Better to love God and die unknown than to love the world and be a hero; better to be content with poverty than to die a slave to wealth; better to have taken some risks and lost than to have done nothing and succeeded at it.” -Erwin Lutzer

 

Cordially,

Jocelyne and Georges



02/04/2012
0 Poster un commentaire

A découvrir aussi


Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 2 autres membres